top of page
  • Writer's picturelolade Alaka

Orchid

Orchid

Signifies beauty

Beauty of strength, refinement

Eloquent perfection

A flower of love

Color, pure, white as snow

With hints of yellow easily ignored

Udo

That was my name, that that meant serene, serenity…peace

So, I was beauty, strength, perfection, love, pure, forgettable,

Serene

Human

An oxymoron of emotions

Twisted


The story starts,

Me

Breathe…sigh of relief…

I have not passed out, consciousness

I have not thrown up, the last bit of my late, scant breakfast

Food

Matter…I am not alone, someone is here

With me

He is here with me

He…comforting me…yes, in his embrace…warm, comforting

He, him…Ore

Drifting…my subconscious, out of my body

My soul, away from the physical

Petrified, shocked

Watching my conscious from above, drifting further away

Slowly into oblivion

Watching my conscious, my body in his arms. His. He. Orekitan.

Gift that never finishes


Memories…laughter

A time of happiness, joy, forgetting…blurred out by time

Him loving me always, comforting me always

Me deserving him never, never had, never will

‘I love you, always have, always will’

Sweet words, dripping like honey from his mouth

Ringing in my ear, like memory verses from a priest’s mouth

Always remembered, never forgotten

Always have, always will

A promise

Of eternity…love

Love never returned

I cannot return this love


NO

I love first…never second

First always

I am broken, damaged

My blood poisoned, my breath labored

Badly used, easily discarded

Worthless, in the face of

So beautiful a creature

I cannot behold his face

Enough!

Enough…the self pity, enough of that

Wake up


My subconscious drifts back…back from oblivion, abyss

Finds my body, lights up my vessel

Comes alive again

Come back…consciousness

At the speed of light…back to reality, the earth

The world…of change

Of opportunities

Back to the arms of love

My love, eternity

Orekitan, mine

Serene…love

Strength…beauty

Orchid

bottom of page